08 December 2009

Them Crooked Vultures: "Them Crooked Vultures"

A project first mentioned in 2005, Them Crooked Vultures is the supergroup that no one saw coming, but has everybody talking. If you read "Mojo" magazine, you would have caught wind of this power trio and thought to yourself “Wow, that’s going to be interesting!” What happens when you take Nirvana + Queens of The Stone Age x the awesomeness of Led Zeppelin? You get Them Crooked Vultures; Dave Grohl sitting behind the kit, Josh Homme on vocals and guitar, and the legendary John Paul Jones on bass and the occasional keys. Told you it was awesome.

One would wonder what a project like this would sound like. Would it sound like Foo Fighters? Nirvana? Zeppelin? Queens of The Stone Age? Well, what if I told you it sounds like all of them? Maybe not even intentionally, maybe that’s just how it happened.

Eponymously released on 17 November 2009, "Them Crooked Vultures" is a 13-track melting pot from three talented individuals who, let’s face it, can’t write a bad song. With grooves that would feel right at home in the Zeppelin catalog, the frantic drumming of Grohl, and the twangy rock guitar that is Homme’s signature, these three distinct flavors come together beautifully under the banner of making great music.

The lead single “New Fang” has it’s roots in the 70’s somewhere, see if you can figure out where. This groovy, bluesy, dirty number is a song you would expect to hear in a smokey after hours club, played to maybe thirty or so people lucky enough to be there watching it go down. Not yet a single, though it very well should be, “Scumbag Blues” is one of the more impressive songs in my opinion. The drumming is so crisp and tight that it makes you bob your head sharply to its cadence.

Check this one out; you’ll be glad you did.

Track Listing:
1. No One Loves Me & Neither Do I
2. Mind Eraser, No Chaser
3. New Fang
4. Dead End Friends
5. Elephants
6. Scumbag Blues
7. Bandoliers
8. Reptiles
9. Interlude with Ludes
10. Warsaw or the First Breath You Take After You Give Up
11. Caligulove
12. Gunman
13. Spinning in Daffodils
14. No One Loves Me & Neither Do I, Live – iTunes exclusive track
15. Gunman, Live – iTunes preorder exclusive track

Keep up with Them Crooked Vultures at their Homepage, MySpace, Facebook, and Twitter.

No comments: